The Detectives Guide to Ocean Travel by Nicki Greenberg

Pepper Stark has always wanted one thing; to join her Father, the Captain, on his beautiful ship, the RMS Aquitania, voyaging to her diseased Mother’s birthplace, the bustling streets of New York City. Deprived of even seeing the majestic vessel, a frantic attempt to sneak on as third class results in Pepper getting a first-class ticket along with her Governess, Miss Quacken. With off-the-charts food and a celebrity dotted passenger list, Pepper’s voyage is as glamourous as expected. But when American singing-sensation Perida West loses the priceless saffron diamond, and her Fathers reputation is at stake, Pepper finds herself entangled in crime. Setting out to solve the cryptic mystery, Pepper and her new friends are determined. But recovering a stolen diamond on the Aquitania is not so easy, when everyone has something to hide. Her quest will lead to uncovering many well-buried secrets.

I absolutely adored this mystery story, with all it’s suspense and surprises. I lived how Nicki Greenberg managed to put just the right amount of everything in it, like a well-baked cake. I would give it a 5 out of 5 star recommendation for fans of Whimsy and Woe at the age of 10 and over. I can’t wait to see what Nicki comes up with next!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: